churro-like

Churro muffins on twothirtyate.com

Don’t judge: I ate two of these immediately after coating them in cinnamon and sugar. Two.

Churro muffins on twothirtyate.com

I grew up not knowing what a churro was. And by “grew up” I mean that I had no idea what they were until I was 28 years old. That’s 28 years that I missed out. I didn’t eat my first one until I was 29 and walking through a street fair. It’s a shame really. These long, thin, fried dough sticks are rolled in cinnamon and sugar and are the things that dreams are made of. Haven’t had one? You should. Go. Find a churro right now.

Churro muffins on twothirtyate.com

I don’t like to fry things, though, mostly because it seems like a waste of oil and because I’m likely to burn myself. Also because it’s bad for you, but let’s face it, that’s never stopped me before. These muffins seemed like the perfect, inspired baked good to satisfy my churro needs, and they are.

Churro muffins on twothirtyate.com

They’re so good I ate two. Then I shared. Begrudgingly. So you should make your own.

 

churro muffins
makes 12 muffins

printer-friendly version

ingredients:
2 cups all-purpose flour
1 1/2 cups sugar
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 1/4 cups milk
2 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 egg

topping:
4 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted
1/2 cup sugar
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

directions:
Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, sugar, baking powder, salt and ground cinnamon until well combined and any lumps have been removed. In a separate bowl, whisk together the milk, butter, and vanilla extract, then add the egg and whisk again. The batter will be runny. Fill the cups of a well-greased muffin tin 2/3 of the way and bake for 16-20 minutes, or until the edges are golden brown and a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Let cool for 5 minutes before removing from muffin tray. Combine cinnamon and sugar in a bowl and mix until will combined. When completely cooled, dip tops in butter, then roll in cinnamon sugar mixture.

About Jessica

New Yorker, coffee addict, cook, blogger, baker of delicious things.
This entry was posted in dessert, vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

