food finds

cucumber and avocado salad

Do you ever get something new– a kitchen tool or gadget or a new ingredient– and then constantly find ways to use it? Well, I recently got a fancy schmancy new paring knife and wow! a sharp knife really makes a huge difference in the kitchen. I love my new knife and am constantly using this versatile tool as I prep and cook my way round the kitchen. I also ordered some Primal mayo, made with wholesome organic ingredients and without sugar, gluten, dairy, soy or canola.

food finds

So when I came across this recipe for a cucumber and avocado salad on Smitten Kitchen, I knew it would be a perfect recipe to make with both my new knife and my new mayo. And now I’m sharing it on the blog. Win-win-win.

cukes and avos

cucumber and avocado salad
printer-friendly recipe
adapted from Smitten Kitchen
serves: 2

ingredients:
3/4 to 1 pound seedless cucumber, washed and chopped into chunks
2 scallions, thinly sliced
1 large avocado, pitted and cubed
2 tablespoons mayonaise
Juice of half a lime
Salt and hot sauce (Sriracha) to taste
Chopped flat-leaf parsley to garnish

directions:
Combine cucumber, scallions and avocado in a bowl. Whisk together mayo, lime and seasonings, adjusting levels to taste. Drizzle salad with dressing and garnish with parsley.

This entry was posted in appetizer, meatless monday, paleo, salad, side dish, vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to food finds

  1. yum! this looks perfect for summertime. I’d love for you to share a post at my link up tomorrow, if you’re interested! There’s an explanation on my main menu under ‘Tell ’em Tuesdays.’
    xoxo K
    http://peeledwellness.com

Leave a Reply

