smooth operator

chococado

I love smoothies. I probably have them 3 to 4 times per week and would have them more often if it didn’t require washing a blender (yeah, yeah, I’m lazy). My usual smoothie thickener is plain Greek yogurt. I love the creaminess that it adds as well as the tangy flavor. I’ve recently been experimenting with using Medjool dates as a sweetener in my smoothies– previously, I have used honey on occasion but generally rely on ripe fruit (mainly bananas) to provide sweetness.

all in the vitamix

This chocolate smoothie has a secret ingredient that adds a ton of creamy richness: avocado! Now I love avocados in all forms, but have never thought to use them in a sweet application. You can’t taste the avocado at all, but it makes the smoothie thick and creamy and oh so delicious. Give it a try today!

chocolate avocado smoothie

chocolate avocado smoothie
printer-friendly recipe
adapted from Against All Grain
makes: 1 smoothie

ingredients:
8 ounces almond milk
1/2 cup crushed ice
1 ripe banana
3 Medjool dates, or 1 tablespoon honey
1/2 avocado (about 1/4 cup)
2 tablespoons cocoa powder
2 tablespoons peanut or almond butter
2 teaspoons ground flaxseed
2 teaspoons chia seeds

directions:
Add all of the ingredients to a high-speed blender (I used my Vitamix) and blend until smooth (30 seconds to 1 minute).

This entry was posted in beverage, meatless monday, paleo, snack, vegan and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to smooth operator

  1. isabella says:

    Yum looks delicious! 😉
    Love,
    Isabella

Leave a Reply

