i’ve been missing out

breakfast for dinner

Confession time: my whole life I have hated pancakes. No, seriously, I hated them. I hated the smell of them and the taste of them.

prep

Growing up pancakes were one of the few things I knew how to make, so I suffered through the smell and made them for every Mother’s and Father’s Day. I even made ones with 2’s and 5’s on them for my parents 25th wedding anniversary. I did not eat them unless I was forced to out of politeness the morning after a sleepover. If someone’s mom woke up and thought it would be nice to make us pancakes then I was gonna choke each repulsive bite down.

zest and poppy seeds

That has now all changed. Remember those griddle cakes that I made not too long ago? Well they were the pancake equivalent of a gateway drug. I don’t know when I realized that pancakes were good but now all I can do is look forward to having one in the morning. Blueberry pancakes might be my favorite so far.

drizzle ready

These lemon poppy seed pancakes are the pancake version of the classic muffin. If my lemon looks a little orange to you it’s because I used a meyer lemon. They’re the slightly sweeter version of their tart cousins and perfect in this recipe. Regular lemons, of course, are also a great compliment.

syrup

lemon poppy seed pancakes
makes 4 servings

printer-friendly version

ingredients:
1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
3/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
3 tablespoons sugar
2 tablespoons poppy seeds
1 1/3 cups buttermilk
1 egg
zest and juice of 1 meyer lemon
4 tablespoons butter, melted plus more for greasing the pan

directions:
Whisk together the flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt in a bowl. Add the sugar and poppy seeds and stir to combine. In a separate bowl, combine the remaining ingredients until mixed. Slowly add the wet ingredients into the dry bowl and stir until the batter is smooth. Heat a skillet to medium-low, add 1/2 tablespoon butter to grease the pan. Pour 1/4 cup batter onto the skillet for each pancake. Flip once bubbles appear on the surface. Adjust the heat if necessary to ensure golden pancakes. Place the cooked pancakes on a heat-safe plate in the oven on the warm setting to keep them warm while you cook the remaining batter. Serve warm topped with berries or maple syrup.

About Jessica

New Yorker, coffee addict, cook, blogger, baker of delicious things.
This entry was posted in breakfast, meatless monday, vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to i’ve been missing out

  1. Mom says:

    For someone who hated pancakes, those look perfectly cooked, even better than mine. I may make them tomorrow for breakfast and then work them off at the gym.

Leave a Reply

