spice up your life

homemade salsa

One of my biggest snacking weaknesses is chips and salsa. The crunchy saltiness of the chip combined with the spiciness of the tomato salsa has been one of my favorite things for years, but it wasn’t until recently that I tried to make my own.

fresh

On a health note, making my own salsa has been great in the sense that jarred salsa tends to be insanely full of sodium. This lets me have control over my salt intake while increasing some other favors that I love so much like that hint of lime.

There are so many ways to make salsa- from a fresh pico de gallo to this briefly cooked salsa and they’re all delicious. I suggest dicing your tomato and onion small and uniformly so that it fits on chips easily.. If you can’t stand the heat then use fewer or smaller peppers. If you love spice, keep the seeds on. This recipe fits my particular spicy needs as it’s not too hot but has a kick.

chopped

I put salsa on anything. The chip is sort of an excuse to carry the tomatoey goodness to my mouth, but I also top egg with it or have it with tofu scramble. I’ve used it on tacos or in salads in the place of salad dressing, which is especially delicious in  taco salad. I also tend to sneak some directly out of the fridge on a spoon.

homemade salsa
printer-friendly version
makes 4 cups

ingredients:
6 roma tomatoes, diced small
1 small red onion, diced small
2 jalapeño, seeds removed and minced
1/2 cup cilantro, chopped
3 cloves garlic, minced
2 tablespoons lime juice
2 teaspoons salt

directions:
Combine all of the ingredients in a large sauce pan and stir together until well combined. Bring the mixture to a simmer medium heat and then cook for only 2 minutes. Transfer to a resealable container and refrigerate. Serve chilled. Will keep in the refrigerator for up to 2 weeks.

About Jessica

New Yorker, coffee addict, cook, blogger, baker of delicious things.
This entry was posted in appetizer, condiment/sauce, meatless monday, random, snack, vegan, vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

