baked breakfast

blueberry banana baked oatmeal

I’ll let you in on a little secret: I kind of hate oatmeal. Sure, I love oats in cookies and muffins, but straight up oatmeal? Gag me. I think it’s a texture thing. I’ve even tried steel cut oats, and while they’re somewhat more palatable, I don’t exactly go out of my way to eat them.

single serving

But oatmeal is ridiculously good for you. And it does a good job of keeping you full. And my husband Derek is a huge fan. So what to do? Well, if you’re me, you discover a baked oatmeal and fruit recipe and become an oatmeal convert! I made this with blueberries and banana, but as the original recipe says, you could use whatever fruits suit your fancy: peaches and raspberries, apples with cranberry, strawberry and banana, etc.

close-up

baked oatmeal with fruit
printer-friendly recipe
adapted from Annie’s Eats
serves: 4

ingredients:
1 cup old fashioned rolled oats
1/4 cup chopped pecans, divided
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
3/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
Pinch of salt
1/4 cup maple syrup
1 cup milk
1 large egg, lightly beaten
2 tablespoon unsalted butter, melted and cooled slightly
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 ripe bananas, peeled and sliced 1/2-inch thick
1 cup blueberries (fresh or frozen), divided

directions:
Preheat the oven to 375˚ F.  (I put the butter in a small oven-safe dish and let it melt while the oven gets to temperature.) Lightly grease a 2-quart baking dish.  In a medium bowl, combine the rolled oats, half of the nuts, baking powder, cinnamon and salt.  Stir with a fork to combine.  In a liquid measuring cup, combine the maple syrup, milk, egg, butter, and vanilla.  Spread the sliced bananas in a single layer over the bottom of the baking dish.  Top with half of the berries.  Sprinkle the dry oat mixture over the fruit in an even layer.  Pour the liquid ingredients evenly over the oats.  Sprinkle the remaining nuts and berries over the top. Bake for 35-40 minutes, until the top is browned and the oats have set.  Let cool 10 minutes before serving.

note:
Other fruit combinations to try: peaches and raspberries, apples with cranberries, strawberry and banana.

PS. I didn’t realize I’ve been on a breakfast kick lately– my last several Monday posts have been my favorite meal: Paleo Waffles, Banana Muffins, Breakfast Burritos, Classic Waffles, and today’s Baked Oatmeal. Good eats!

This entry was posted in breakfast, fruit, meatless monday, rice/grain and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to baked breakfast

  1. Scotia says:

    I really hate the texture of oatmeal, too! I’m thinking of trying this recipe but I’m a little scared… what is the texture of this? Does it come out pretty solid, like a homemade version of a granola bar, or an oatmeal cookie? Or is it mushy like oatmeal and bread pudding?

    • jane says:

      it’s soft like oatmeal, but not at all gummy (which is the texture i hate). i would say it’s like a very soft oatmeal cookie. good luck!

Leave a Reply

