no packets here

Onion dip on twothirtyate.com

A long time ago, I made ranch dip without the packet with all of the extra “stuff” in it. Those packets of dip mix are so easy, but did you know that MSG is one of the first ingredients? You can make a tasty alternative from a few items in your spice rack and this time I’ll show you how I make onion soup dip.

All there

We never had onion dip in the house while growing up. The only time I ever encountered it was at extended family gathering in a multi-server filled with chips and pretzels. I loved it, probably in part because I didn’t have it often, but most likely because it’s delicious. Now that we’re headed into Superbowl season, I’m glad that I have this recipe.

Dry ingredients

When making dip, I always use Greek yogurt. I think that it has a similar consistency the sour cream that recipes usually tell you to use and it’s a much healthier option. Also, since I’m watching what I eat lately, I like that I can choose a fat free option without feeling like I’m missing anything. I’m willing to bet you won’t miss anything either.

onion dip
printer-friendly version
makes the equivalent of 1 packet

ingredients:
2 1/2 tablespoons dried minced onion
1/2 teaspoon sea salt
1/4 teaspoon freshly ground pepper
1 teaspoon garlic powder
1 teaspoon dried parsley
4 teaspoons beef bouillon
2 cups Greek yogurt

directions:
Mix together all of the herbs and spices. Stir into the yogurt and let sit for at least 30 minutes. Serve with crudites, pretzels, or your favorite chip.

About Jessica

New Yorker, coffee addict, cook, blogger, baker of delicious things.
This entry was posted in condiment/sauce, meatless monday, random, vegetarian and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to no packets here

  1. Definitely making this!

  2. Cassie says:

    This dip was delicious!

Leave a Reply

