i wouldn’t steer you wrong

Marinated steak on twothirtyate.com

I’m sick (but not sick enough that I couldn’t throw a pun into the title of a beef recipe), so I’ll get straight to the point: this marinade is amazing. I discovered it and tweaked it and we’ve used it at least four or five times in the past month. That’s how good it is. I even used it to make pulled pork, which I’ll share with you at some point.

All ready to go

I dislike store bought marinades because often times they’re full of unnecessary sugar and….stuff. I often dislike ingredients that I can’t pronounce. I love that this marinade is made from items that I always have in our pantry. The only thing you might be missing from your own pantry is Worcestershire sauce which, if you don’t have it, you’re obviously not making bloody marys often enough.

In the bag

Also, I bought a cast iron skillet. For whatever reason, I kept looking at the decision to buy one as a much bigger deal than a $20 purchase should be. I consulted Jane and asked how she felt about hers. I got excited, I bought one. I’ve now used it every day. I’m sure the allure will wear off eventually, but for now I love it.

Seared

Additionally, this blog post has taught me that the sauce is marinaDe but the process is marinaTe. Odd.

marinated steak
printer-friendly version
makes 1 marinade

ingredients:
1/3 cup soy sauce
1/3 cup olive oil
1/4 cup Worcestershire sauce
2 tablespoons lemon juice
1 tablespoons dried basil
1 tablespoon onion powder
1 1/2 tablespoons dried parsley flakes
1 teaspoon red pepper flakes
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 skirt steak, London broil, or cut of your choice

directions:
Gather all the ingredients and combine them in a one gallon zip top bag. Close the bag and shake it to combine the ingredients. Place the steak inside of the bag. Close the bag, ensuring to get the air out,and refrigerate for at least 2 hours.

Remove the marinated steak from the refrigerator to let it start to come to room temperature. Put your cast iron skillet into the oven and preheat the oven to 450 degrees. Once preheated, remove the skillet and heat to medium on the stove top. Place the steak directly into the skillet and cook for 2 minutes until you get a good sear. Flip and sear the other side for 2 minutes. Place the skillet back into the oven and cook for 4 minutes on each side. Remove the steak from the oven and set on a cutting board to rest for 10 minutes before slicing.

About Jessica

New Yorker, coffee addict, cook, blogger, baker of delicious things.
This entry was posted in beef and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

