quickles

lined up and brined up

I have this unhealthy obsession with mason jars. I collected antique blue ones for a year before our wedding to use as centerpieces (see them in action in our header above). Love them! Anyhow, I stumbled across the ever-elusive pint-and-half mason jars at Target recently and promptly placed them in my cart. (Don’t tell Derek!) This size has been lauded on the internet and I was super excited to get them to use as my daily smoothie vessel.

filling jars

But they come in a pack of nine. And I probably only need 3 or 4 for my smoothies… So I knew I had to use them before I would be questioned by Derek about buying unnecessary, space-taking jars… CSA vegetables, this is your cue!

standing tall

We’re about a month into our summer vegetable share from Potomac Vegetable Farms and I’m sad to say that some of the veggies have gone into the crisper to never be seen or heard from again. With my love of vinegar and acid and a bounty of veggies and mason jars, making pickles was the obvious solution.

golden beets on the left

These refrigerator pickle recipes are super easy and really only require chopping and boiling. Since the jars aren’t processed (canned) at the end, they won’t last forever (although one of the recipes says they keep for 3 months in the fridge), but they don’t really last for very long around here anyways.

it's a dilly

refrigerator pickles
printer-friendly recipe
adapted from Ted Allen
makes: 2 quarts

ingredients:
10 cloves garlic, peeled
2 cups white or apple cider vinegar
6 teaspoons kosher salt
Several sprigs of fresh dill
1 teaspoon celery seed
1 teaspoon coriander seed
1 teaspoon mustard seed
1/2 teaspoon black peppercorns
1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes
Cucumbers, quartered lengthwise (to fit in jars)
Carrots, peeled and cut in half lengthwise (to fit in jars)
1 handful large scallion pieces, or half an onion, sliced, optional

directions:
In a medium saucepan, bring 4 cups water to a boil, reduce the heat so the water simmers and add the garlic. Cook for 5 minutes. Add the vinegar and salt, raise the heat and bring to a boil, stirring until the salt dissolves. Remove from the heat.

In 2 1-quart jars, place a few sprigs of dill. Divide the seeds and peppercorns between the jars. Using tongs, remove the garlic from the brine and place 5 cloves in each jar. Then pack the jars full of cucumbers, carrots and scallions/onions, if using. You want them to be tightly stuffed.

Bring the brine back to a boil if it has cooled down. Pour it over the vegetables to cover completely, let cool, then cover and refrigerate. The pickles will taste good in just a few hours, better after a couple of days.

beet it

pickled beets
printer-friendly recipe
adapted from Alton Brown
makes: 1 quart jar or 3 pints

ingredients:
5-6 or so roasted beets
1 onion, sliced thin
1 cup apple cider vinegar
1 1/2 teaspoons Kosher salt
1/2 cup sugar
1 cup water

directions:
Remove the skin from the roasted beets and slice thinly. Arrange in jar alternating layers with the onion. In a small pot boil the rest of the ingredients and pour over the beets. Tightly lid the jar and place in the refrigerator for 3 to 7 days before serving.

This entry was posted in appetizer, condiment/sauce, random, snack, vegan and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to quickles

  1. Aunt Chris says:

    Thanks for this recipe, I’ll be trying it soon. Now maybe Jessica will stop eating all of my pickles when she comes to visit now that she too has this recipe.

  2. Tricia says:

    I’ve never pickled anything before in my life. This looked to be an easy first try. I made them last evening. Easy enough. I tried one today with lunch. They’re PICKLES! I’m so excited! And I got to use up some of my CSA leftovers. Thanks for the recipe!!!

Leave a Reply

