i’ve been hitting the bottle

blueprint cleanse

Living in New York City means being exposed to certain trends that may seem a bit silly to others. At work, we hear a lot about cleanses. There are pills that you can take, or you can do the Master Cleanse where you drink a spicy lemonade and maple syrup combination for days on end (with no food intake). The trendiest of the cleanses recently has been the Blueprint Cleanse. This approachable, colorful line of raw, organic juices sells like crazy at work. However, six juices a day at $7-10 a bottle is a little intimidating.

Blueprint cleanse is six juices per day. The juices you drink depend on how hardcore you want to be. Their site has three different cleanses you can do. People cleanse for different reasons including weight loss, to kick start a new diet, or just to get back on track after a long period of indulgence. Some people I’ve spoken to have juiced for just one day. The website suggests 3-5 days. I chose 3 days as it seemed long enough for me to see results, but not too long that it would seem impossible. Giving up solid foods is tough for a girl who loves to cook so much.

wash and dry

A little digging online and I found some comparable juice recipes. Getting excited about my new project, I headed to my local produce market (which is so fantastically inexpensive that they got a write-up in Serious Eats recently) and stocked up on all the fruits on vegetables needed to get started. In a bout of over-organization I then washed, cut and organized it all into gallon bags so that all I had to do was juice the contents of it to make my juice. There’s nothing worse than having to dig through your fridge for each and every ingredient. Plus, I knew that, if it was hard, I wouldn’t continue to juice.

If you don’t have a juicer then you can make all of these in a blender and then strain out the solids. It’s my understanding that you don’t want to make all of the juices at once as the nutrients break down the longer they sit. I generally prepared my juices the night before and bottled them so they’d be ready to grab-and-go for work the next morning. It sounds time consuming, but if you think of it as the time you would normally spend cooking dinner then it’s not so bad.

bagged up

I did the Renovation cleanse, but, for whatever reason, substituted a second spicy lemonade for a green juice. I drank a green juice for breakfast, then my PAM (pineapple apple mint) for a mid-morning snack. Lunchtime was a spicy lemonade, and late lunch/mid-afternoon snack was the beet juice. When I got home from work I’d drink my second spicy lemonade and dinner was the cashew milk. I gave up coffee but drank green tea when I was feeling a little droopy and made sure to drink plenty of water. It may seem like you’re getting plenty of fluids, but it’s important to drink a lot of water while cleansing. I missed chewing, so I bought some gum. Day two wasn’t so bad and day three was a breeze. I didn’t eat while juicing, but some people eat a handful of raw nuts whenever they’re really hungry.

Overall it was worth it. I felt energetic despite the lack of coffee in my life (and I really love coffee) and lost a few pounds. I thought it was going to be torturous, but it wasn’t. The green juice takes a few sips to get used to first thing in the morning, but basically tastes like drinking a salad. I never really could get used to the beet juice. It smells earthy but also has a sweetness to it. It wasn’t my favorite. The PAM and cashew milk were delicious. I’d gladly drink them any time.

cashew milk

Disclaimer: I am not a dietician or a heath professional. I am also not telling you how or what you should eat. The Blueprint Cleanse made me feel great but may not be right for you. To each their own.

homemade blueprint cleanse
printer-friendly version
recipes borrowed and some adapted from Juices 101
each recipe makes 1 juice

green juice:
3 romaine lettuce leaves
4 celery stalks
1 cucumber
3 kale leaves
5 parsley ribs
2 granny smith apples
1/4 cup spinach
1 ounce lemon juice

PAM (pineapple apple mint):
1/3 pineapple
2 granny smith apples
4 tablespoons mint
1 ounce lime juice

spicy lemonade:
16 ounces filtered water
3 ounces lemonade
1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper
1 tablespoon agave nectar

carrot apple beet ginger lemon:
3 carrots
1 fuji apple
2 beets
4 celery stalks
1 1/2 tablespoons fresh ginger
1/2 ounce lemon juice

cashew nut milk:
16 ounces filtered water
4 1/2 ounces raw cashews
1 tablespoon agave nectar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon

directions:
soak cashews in water overnight. Add the water and cashews to a blender and puree. Pour the mixture through a fine mesh strainer or, to get as few tiny cashew bits as possible, through cheese cloth. Let sit for 5-10 minutes, stirring the contents of the strainer every so often to make sure as much liquid has drained as possible. Discard the remaining cashew solids. Use the cashew milk for making your “juice.”

About Jessica

New Yorker, coffee addict, cook, blogger, baker of delicious things.
This entry was posted in beverage, fruit, meatless monday, vegan, vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to i’ve been hitting the bottle

  1. kncaballero says:

    thanks Jess! I juice in the mornings sometimes but I’ve always wanted to do a legit 3-7 day cleanse…i may just have to start with yours! Im not too into the idea of paying anyone to prepare my juices when i can just do it-and you make the overall plan easy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

