snap happy

c is for cookie

I may have mentioned before that I tend to make baked goods for my coworkers. I’ve been known to bake a going away cake or a random loaf of banana bread, perhaps a batch of cookies. It all started years ago at an internship when I realized that, if you offer homemade baked goods to people, they’ll want to be your friend. All of a sudden they’ll say hello in the hall and before you know it you’ve broken the awkward ice.

Now I share my baking for that reason, but also so that there aren’t cookies sitting in my house waiting for me to eat them. Everyone loves it and, who am I kidding? I kind of love the nickname “the cookie goddess” that one coworker calls me. Who wouldn’t enjoy being called a goddess of any sort?

lots of ingredients

Needless to say, I take requests. I was more than willing to make gingersnaps for a coworker who asked for them last week. He wanted them crisp, not soft, which is how I prefer my cookies, too. A little tweaking of a recipe I found proved to be perfect. Next time I might add some chopped candied ginger, but these were enjoyed by all just as they were.

dry

The dough is easy to make and the mixture of spices really balance well. It’s a little hard to tell if they’re done since they’re a very brown cookie to start out with and usually browning is an indication of their completion. So keep an eye on them and don’t let them over cook. Enjoy them with a glass of milk or by themselves. But most importantly, share them, because that’s how you can make friends.

mixed up

gingersnaps
printer-friendly version
adapted from recipe girl
makes 36 cookies

ingredients:
2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
1 1/2 teaspoons ground ginger
3/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon ground cloves
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 stick unsalted butter, brought to room temperature
1 cup packed light brown sugar
1/2 cup granulated white sugar
1/3 cup Steen’s cane syrup or molasses
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 teaspoon fresh ginger, grated
2 large egg whites
4 tablespoons granulated white sugar

directions:
Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.Combine the flour, baking soda, ginger, cinnamon, clove, and salt in a mixing bowl and whisk to combine. In a stand mixer, cream the butter until fluffy. Add the brown and white sugars and mix to combine. Add the cane syrup, vanilla, and fresh ginger to the mixer and beat until the ingredients are well mixed. Add the egg whites one by one, beating in between. Put the 4 tablespoons of sugar on a plate or in a small bowl. When the dough is completely mixed, create 3/4″ balls of dough and roll them in the sugar. Place them one inch apart on a lined cookie sheet. Bake the cookies for 8-10 minutes. Let them cool for a few minutes before transferring them to a wire cooling rack.

About Jessica

New Yorker, coffee addict, cook, blogger, baker of delicious things.
This entry was posted in cookies, dessert, vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to snap happy

  1. Lisa says:

    These are great for dunking in milk or having with your morning tea!

Leave a Reply

