parsnipity

spiced

We have a produce market by my house that I love. It’s often an adventure because I find the one thing that I have no idea what to do with it, bring it home, and tackle a new vegetable or fruit. Sometimes it goes horribly, like the time Alex brought home a persimmon for my to try. It turns out that I think they’re gross. Other times it goes wonderfully well.

biased

Parsnips are an example of the produce market going extremely well. After calling my mom to find out whether or not I disliked parsnips (she didn’t know), I decided to bring some home and tinker around with them. They’re similar to carrots, but sweeter. They’re a nice change of pace for winter vegetables, and I really like the way the mix of spices contrasts the sweetness to add a little kick. These make a great side dish and even seem kid friendly (though really, what would I know about that?)

spices

spiced parsnips
printer-friendly version
makes 6 servings

ingredients:
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp paprika
1/2 tsp chili powder
1/2 tsp garlic powder
1/2 tsp sea salt
6 carrots, peeled and cut on the bias

directions:
preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Combine all the ingredients in a bowl and mix until the parsnips are evenly coated. Spread them in one layer on a lined baking sheet and bake for 20 minutes or until edges are a little crisp.

About Jessica

New Yorker, coffee addict, cook, blogger, baker of delicious things.
This entry was posted in appetizer, side dish, vegan and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to parsnipity

  1. Mom says:

    Mmmm, I must try this!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.