turkey lurkey

golden brown

I had originally made these right after Thanksgiving, I guess I’m a little behind. I’d bought a 14 lb turkey for 4 people because Alex loves turkey leftovers. Not content to serve him plain, reheated turkey for dinner every night (which he would have eaten without complaint), I decided to get a little creative with my leftovers. I also had a score to settle.

One of my coworkers started asking questions about my cooking: How did I learn to cook? What kinds of dishes do I make? What was for dinner tonight? Could it possibly be that delicious? So I decided to put my money where my mouth is and make my pot pies in individual servings so that he could try one at work. He’s now a believer in my ability to cook.

gravy

I made these pot pies with a single crust on top, but traditionally they’re done with one on the top and bottom. Once made, but before baking, you could easily freeze them for later. Don’t have extra turkey laying around? Chicken will do just fine. Want to add potatoes? That’s ok, too. This is perfectly hearty for winter and probably one of my favorite things to eat when it’s cold outside.

turkey pot pie
printer-friendly version
makes 6 small pies or 1 large pie

ingredients:
1 frozen pastry for a (10 inch) double crust pie
4 tablespoons butter, divided
1 small onion, diced
2 stalks celery, chopped
2 carrots, diced
3 tablespoons dried parsley
1 teaspoon dried oregano
1 tablespoon fresh sage of 1/2 teaspoon dried
2 cups chicken broth
1/2 cup milk
3 tablespoons all-purpose flour
1 1/2 cups cubed cooked turkey or chicken
salt and pepper to taste

directions:
Preheat the oven to 375 degrees. Melt the butter over medium heat in a saute pan. Add the onion, celery and carrot and saute until softened, about 10 minutes. Meanwhile, in a sauce pan, mix together the herbs, broth, and milk and simmer. Add the flour and whisk until the gravy becomes smooth. Add salt and pepper to taste. If you’re using a bottom crust, roll one out into a pie pan. Place the chunks of turkey in the pie plan and make sure they’re evenly distributed. Add the vegetables in the same manner and then pour the gravy over the turkey and vegetables, making sure not to over fill the pie pan. Roll a pie crust carefully onto the top of the pot pie and pinch around the edges of the pan to seal everything in. Using a  knife, cut ventilation slits into the crust. If you’re using ramekins then you’ll want to cut a circle of crust about a 1/2-inch larger in each direction than the ramekin before filling them. Place on a baking sheet to catch any gravy that may spill out while cooking. Bake in the oven for 20-25 minutes or until crust is golden brown.

About Jessica

New Yorker, coffee addict, cook, blogger, baker of delicious things.
This entry was posted in chicken, dinner, poultry, thanksgiving and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to turkey lurkey

  1. Mom says:

    Homemade pie pastry works just as well.

Leave a Reply

