have a heart-y

hearty

When I graduated college and moved into my very first apartment, my mother wrote down all of my favorite recipes in a small binder and gave it to me so that I knew how to make them. Alex knew about this binder, he’d seen the binder, he’d held it in his hands. Yet it wasn’t until Alex and I moved in together that I saw that my mother-in-law had made a binder of her own for him. He’d never mentioned it!

simple

I recently cracked this binder open looking for some blogging inspiration. After all, those recipes are Alex’s favorite and I could easily make them for him. I noticed this recipe right away and, since it’s compiled of ingredients we usually have on hand anyway, I decided to make it the next evening.

simmer

I used hot Italian sausage instead of the sweet that it calls for which gave the soup a more surprising kick than I expected. A delicious kick, but a kick nonetheless. This soup is hearty without being heavy. I’ll definitely make it again and I’m so glad that I found this recipe tucked away! I’m sure you’ll be seeing more of Joan’s recipes popping up here soon enough.

basque potato soup
printer-friendly version
serves 6

ingredients:
1 pound sweet italian sausage, cut into 1/2-inch chunks
1 onion, chopped
1 28 ounce can diced tomatoes
4 medium russet potatoes, cut into 1/2-inch pieces
3 rubs celery, cut diagonally
4 cups chicken broth
1 bay leaf
1/2 teaspoon dried thyme
1 tablespoon lemon juice
salt and pepper, to taste

directions:
Brown the sausage in a soup pot over medium-high heat, about 15 minutes. Add the onion and cook, stirring, until it is translucent. Add the rest of the ingredients and bring to a boil. Reduce the heat to medium-low and simmer, covered, until the potatoes are tender, about 30-45 minutes. Season with salt and pepper before serving.

About Jessica

New Yorker, coffee addict, cook, blogger, baker of delicious things.
This entry was posted in dinner, pork, soup/stew and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to have a heart-y

  1. Ben Burtzos says:

    This is also the favorite soup of my former Spanish teacher, Mr. Salazar. Once upon a time, his obit was mistakenly printed in the newspaper, so there is an aura of the undead about this soup. But as of this writing, I can assure you that Mr. Salazar is alive and well and (probably) eating this soup as we speak.

  2. Mom says:

    So glad you started using Joan’s recipes. This looks very good and I’ll be trying it soon.

  3. Joan says:

    Definitely a favorite in this household. I’m glad you liked it, Jessica!

  4. Marie says:

    It drops below 70 degrees in NOLA and I can’t wait to make soups and stews!!! This one was delish! Chris liked it too! Thanks so much for sharing! I cooked it with the hot Italian sausage and enjoyed the spicy kick!

Leave a Reply

