faux pasta

topped with sauce

I’ve shared recipes for acorn squash as well as butternut squash, but I haven’t shared my favorite squash yet on this blog: spaghetti squash. There’ s something about the pasta-like strands that I love. I eat spaghetti squash as a substitute for actual pasta or rice, usually topped with marinara or sometimes simply with butter and parmesan cheese.

spaghetti squash halved deseeded

Cooking spaghetti squash is pretty easy and hands-off. I know there are methods out there using the microwave and then the oven, but honestly, I’m too lazy for that and my microwave isn’t very good. I throw a halved squash into the oven when I get home from work, and the oven does all the work for me while I get on with my life. By the time I’m ready to make the rest of my dinner, the squash has cooked and cooled, allowing for easy spaghetti squash scoopage.

strands

roasted spaghetti squash
printer-friendly recipe
serves: 2

ingredients:
1 spaghetti squash
Salt and pepper
Marinara or butter and parmesan cheese, for topping

directions:
Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Halve the squash lengthwise and scoop out the seeds and discard. Place the squash cut-side down in a baking dish or on a baking sheet. Roast for 45 minutes, checking after 30 to see if the squash easily separates into strands with a fork. Scoop out the squash flesh with a fork, season with salt and pepper and top with sauce before serving.

This entry was posted in dinner, random, side dish, vegan and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to faux pasta

  1. bunnimari says:

    I do this often & it is delish! Sometimes I serve it as a side dish with angel hair, & mix the two together. I get the satisfaction of real pasta, with half the calories! Love your blog!

Leave a Reply

