eat your greens

greens

I like a lot of “stuff” in my salads and usually couldn’t care less about the actual leafy greens portion. If I could just fill a bowl with crunchy veggies, drizzle dressing over them and gobble them up, I would. This salad changed all of that.

I’m not sure why I love this so much. Perhaps it’s because the first time I had it was also the first time I’d had raw kale. I’d always cooked kale before and, while it’s delicious, it tastes completely different when it’s raw. It’s a very hearty, durable leafy green, so it doesn’t get soggy quickly from salad dressing. Kale is also really nutritious with 2 grams of protein per cup and tons of vitamins. If you’re trying to eat your greens, you should be eating kale.

dressing

My love for this salad could also be that it’s so easy to throw together last minute. Tear kale, toss with dressing, done. I’ve recently stumbled upon my new favorite product at work, which is a tub of mixed kale by Satur Farms. This company (who is not paying me to say nice things about them but it would be awesome if they did) is local to Long Island, NY, so you may not be able to find their products where you live. They are sustainable farmers and, if I understand correctly, produce all their greens organically but do not have a certified organic stamp on their products because it’s super expensive to obtain that. Anyway, this product is awesome and if you can’t find theirs, I suggest you look for one that’s simmilar. There are several different types of kale in there to keep things interesting, one of which tastes mustardy and gives your salad a great flavor. The best part is that everything is already torn up, washed and ready to go!

satur farms

kale salad with chili lime dressing
printer-friendly version
serves 3

ingredients:
4 cups of fresh kale
2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
2 tablespoons fresh lime juice
1/2 teaspoon chili powder
1/4 teaspoon sea salt

directions:
Rinse and drain the kale and either tear it into small pieces or chop it even smaller, depending on your preference. Combine the olive oil, lime juice, chili powder, and sea salt in a small bowl and stir to combine. Drizzle the dressing over the kale and toss until the leaves are coated evenly.

About Jessica

New Yorker, coffee addict, cook, blogger, baker of delicious things.
This entry was posted in meatless monday, salad, vegan and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to eat your greens

  1. Mom says:

    Is it tough to chew? I’ll keep my eyes open for it, but I’ll probably have to wait till I come to the city to get it. The dressing sounds good .

Leave a Reply

