kids, let me tell you about the time…

cooked

… my grandfather passed away, resulting in Alex doing the sweetest thing he’s ever done for me. It was the summer after I graduated from college and I was just learning how to cook, but I didn’t necessarily know how to make many things. One thing I’d told Alex about several times was “chicken in a pot.”

This very vague sounding dish comes from a time when I was at my grandparents, eating dinner, and said, “Grandpa, this is delicious. What is it?” He simply replied, “chicken in a pot.” Seriously. It could not have been more nondescript. Of all the beautiful, Italian names my very Italian grandfather could have called it, this was simply “chicken in a pot.”

basics

So on the day my grandfather passed away, I was  at work. I called Alex while I was on my break to tell him what had happened and headed back to my shift. After biking home, I found Alex in my apartment, in my kitchen, cooking dinner for me. He was making “chicken in a pot” because he knew my grandfather had made it for me and that I loved it. The problem is, I had never told Alex what was in it and he’d never thought to ask. He simply knew that it involved chicken and a pot. To this day, I’m not sure what Alex put in that pot. There was chicken, a can of cream of mushroom soup and some other stuff. It wasn’t bad necessarily, but it wasn’t “chicken in a pot.” It was, however, the sweetest gesture I can imagine.

raw

This is my grandfather’s recipe for “chicken in a pot.” It turns out that my mom had the recipe the whole time and I’d just never thought to ask for it. It’s not what I had remembered at all, but, quite honestly, I think I’d compiled in my head every memory and every delicious dish that my grandfather had ever made for me. “Chicken in a pot” was Florida sunshine and swimming pools, the smell of a homemade meat sauce in the kitchen while I played cards on the patio. There’s no way for you to get all of that from making this, but perhaps you’ll try it anyway.

chicken in a pot
printer-friendly version
serves: 6

ingredients:
1 chicken, cut in to pieces, or roughly 3 pounds of chicken pieces
2 carrots, sliced
2 onions, sliced
2 teaspoons salt
1/2 teaspoon black pepper
1 teaspoon dried basil
1/2 cup chicken broth, water, or wine

directions:
Layer all of the ingredients in a large pot and cook, covered on medium-low heat, stirring occasionally. Add more liquid as necessary and cook until chicken is done, about 45 minutes. Alternatively, put all of the ingredients in to a slow cooker and cook on low for 8 hours.

About Jessica

New Yorker, coffee addict, cook, blogger, baker of delicious things.
This entry was posted in chicken, dinner, poultry, slow-cooker and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to kids, let me tell you about the time…

  1. Mom says:

    That was beautiful, both the story and the gesture. Alex really does make it difficult for everyone else, ie: your father and the boys.

  2. Amanda says:

    Awesome Jess!!! Super Sweet mad me sniffle

Leave a Reply

