when i dip, you dip, we dip

crudite

Are you on the Greek yogurt bandwagon yet? If not, you’re late. It’s delicious for breakfast, as a substitute for sour cream on burritos, and also as the base for dips.

I went through a phase where I would take those soup/dip packets from the grocery store, mix them with fat free Greek yogurt, and dip my baby carrots in it. It’s a delicious snack, plus it doesn’t have copious amounts of mayo in it. Is there anything most gross than mayo in a dip? Sure, I like a thin smear on a sandwich, but I don’t want to eat it in large quantities. Maybe that’s just me.

herbs and spices

Anyway, in my current phase of “I bet I could make that,” I realized that I didn’t need the silly packets from the grocery store. Making my own mix is so easy and eliminates all those unpronounceable ingredients from the packets.

homemade ranch dip
printer-friendly version
makes 1 1/2 cups dip

ingredients:
1 1/2 cups Greek yogurt (I use 0% fat)
1 teaspoon onion powder
1 1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
3/4 tablespoon dried parsley
1 tablespoon fresh dill, finely chopped
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon pepper

directions:
In a small bowl, combine all ingredients and stir to mix well. Let the dip sit in the refrigerator for 20 minutes before serving with your favorite assorted veggies.

About Jessica

New Yorker, coffee addict, cook, blogger, baker of delicious things.
This entry was posted in appetizer, condiment/sauce, random, snack, vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to when i dip, you dip, we dip

  1. Mom says:

    Mmmmm that looks so good and refreshing! And I recognize that plate.

Leave a Reply

