everything’s better with bacon

Untitled

I’ve already declared my love for bacon but we also have a pretty huge love of veggies over here.  Quite honestly, Alex could eat them by the bowl full and I’m not too far behind him. While we eat our vegetables sauteed, roasted and steamed, sometimes it’s nice to make them a little more deiliciously guilty.

Untitled

Growing up I usually ate string beans steamed, so I never really liked them. The frozen ones are short and seem watery to me. There’s nothing appealing to them and they’re really rather unexciting. Recently, I stumbled upon haricot verts, or French string beans. They’re like fresh green beans in that they’re long and not cut into pieces, but they’re thinner and less fleshy than the ones I was used to. I quickly became obsessed. I usually make these without the bacon, but it seemed like such a delicious addition that I couldn’t help myself.

Untitled Untitled

haricot vert with bacon
printer-friendly version
makes 5 servings

ingredients:
4 strips of bacon, chopped
1 small white onion, thinly sliced
4 cloves garlic, chopped
1 24 ounce bag of frozen haricot verts (French string beans)
1/4 teaspoon ground chipotle
salt and pepper to taste

directions:
Heat a large skillet on medium-low. Add the bacon and cook until rendered (crispy), about 5 minutes. Add the onion and saute until it softens. Add the garlic and saute 2-3 minutes more. Add in the haricot verts, chipotle, salt and pepper and toss to combine. Let everything cook for about 5 minutes or until the string beans still have a slight crunch. Serve hot.

About Jessica

New Yorker, coffee addict, cook, blogger, baker of delicious things.
This entry was posted in dinner, pork, side dish and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

