‘no more rhyming now, i mean it!’ ‘anybody want a peanut?’

yummy slaw

Oh, the South Beach Diet. Did you do it? I did. Jane did. I’m pretty sure lots of people did. I’m not knocking it, but it took some getting used to. I tried many recipes that were not tasty and others that I keep making to this day. This is one of them and I’m really glad that my friend, Jenn Lewis, directed me to this one.

fresh crisp choppety chop

Jane recently posted her favorite mayo-free slaw recipe. This is mine. It’s simple, contains ingredients that I usually have around the house, and is perfect for picnics. Alex can’t get enough of it and was thrilled to know that I made a double batch of it for him today.

pre-mix

It’s a simple few ingredients. The dressing is made up of a few items that I use often like here and here that create a tangy flavor and the peanuts add a nice crunch. I usually dress the whole salad if I make a small batch, but with big batches I dress it as we eat it so that it doesn’t get soggy.

dress it up

spicy slaw
printer-friendly version
adapted from Kalyn’s Kitchen
serves: 5

ingredients:
1/2 head of green cabbage, finely chopped
1/2 cup peanuts, chopped
1/2 cup green onions, thinly sliced
1 bunch cilantro, chopped

dressing:
2 tablespoons unseasoned rice vinegar
1 tablespoon agave nectar or sugar
2 teaspoons sesame oil
2 1/2 teaspoons soy sauce
1 1/2 teaspoons Sriracha sauce
1/4 cup canola oil
Salt and pepper to taste

directions:
Chop all the ingredients, making sure that they’re all bite sized. Remove the core of the cabbage before cutting it. Combine all of the ingredients in a large salad bowl. In another bowl combine all of the salad dressing ingredients. Add the dressing to the salad and toss until it’s completely coated.

About Jessica

New Yorker, coffee addict, cook, blogger, baker of delicious things.
This entry was posted in meatless monday, random, side dish, vegan, vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to ‘no more rhyming now, i mean it!’ ‘anybody want a peanut?’

  1. Mom says:

    Finally made this delicious salad. It’s a keeper. This and the other cole slaw recipe on your blog is a refreshing change from the usual mayo dressing.

Leave a Reply

