life goals

speckled

In our first year of dating I used to tell Alex, “I just want to be rich enough that I can hang around all day and make you waffles.” I didn’t even like waffles at the time, but it seemed like the perfect way to explain my delusions of grandeur. That year, for my birthday, I received a waffle maker. Sure, it seems like an odd gift and I remember my family saying, “this is something that you actually wanted?” but I was delighted. Now if only I had more time to use it…

nooks and crannies

I now love waffles and this is my go-to waffle recipe. They’re crisp, light and fluffy. The pecans toast slightly while the waffle cooks, giving them more flavor. These are easy to whip up and effortless to cook.

cinnamon pecan waffles
printer-friendly version
makes 4-6 waffles depending on the size of your waffle iron

ingredients:
2 eggs, whites and yolks separated
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 cups milk
1/3 cup oil
2 cups all-purpose flour
1 tablespoon baking powder
2 teaspoons cinnamon
1/2 cup pecans, chopped

directions:
Heat your waffle iron to medium high. Whisk the egg whites until stiffly beaten. Add the rest of the ingredients to the bowl and whisk together to get rid of any lumps. Once your waffle iron is heated, sprinkle a generous amount of chopped pecans over the inside. Pour the batter over the pecans and close the lid to cook it. I use 3/4 of a cup of batter for my waffle iron, but how much you use will depend on the size of your machine. Don’t overfill it or  it will spill out the sides and cause a mess.  You can lift the lid to check on your waffle, but it’s done when there is no longer any steam escaping from the sides and golden brown on the outside. Serve with cinnamon and sugar (half cinnamon, half sugar in a bowl; please don’t buy it pre-made from the store!) or butter and maple syrup.

About Jessica

New Yorker, coffee addict, cook, blogger, baker of delicious things.
This entry was posted in breakfast, eggs, meatless monday, vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to life goals

  1. mom says:

    Wow, they look really good. I’ll have to try that recipe. Hey! Why haven’t you ever made them for me?

  2. kncaballero says:

    Yummm….i love waffles…

Leave a Reply

