intoxicated fowl

no muss, no fuss

Since living in Manhattan my motto seems to be, “I don’t have time for that.” This includes things like going to the doctor, making my own sun-dried tomatoes (sorry Mom, it’s not going to happen) and doing laundry (thanks, Alex!). It does not include blogging, making baked goods, or taunting our cat by trying to make her wear a box. It’s because of all of this that I have fallen even more in love with my slow cooker.

a few of my favorite things

This recipe stemmed from one that uses chicken broth, Greek seasoning and garlic cloves. I decided to change it up and it worked wonderfully. Sure, if you’d like you can use the broth or any seasoning of your choice, really, but this pairing was particularly good. It was also what happened to be in my house.

simmer

lazy chicken
printer-friendly version
serves: 3-4

ingredients:
1 1/2 pounds of chicken (thighs, legs, etc.)
1 tablespoon Old Bay seasoning
4 cloves of garlic, smashed
12 ounces of beer

directions:
Add the garlic and beer to your slow-cooker. Sprinkle the chicken with Old Bay and add it to the slow-cooker. If the beer covers the chicken it will not brown or be crispy, but will cook just fine. Set on high and cook for 4 hours or on low and cook for 6-8 hours.

About Jessica

New Yorker, coffee addict, cook, blogger, baker of delicious things.
This entry was posted in chicken, poultry, slow-cooker and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to intoxicated fowl

  1. Ben Burtzos says:

    I’m not a huge cook, but a though I have here (obvs, you would need to have this on hand as well, or it would defeat the lazy purpose): you could probably use 1 pound of chicken and a half pound of andouille (which pairs with beer really well) and a chopped onion and green pepper (just to get some veggies in there). Did you serve this over anything? I think it could be great with pasta, which, again, I almost always have on hand and requires very little prep time. I appreciate the laziness immensely.

  2. Jessica says:

    Those all sound like great ideas! Potatoes might be a good side, as well, and I think they’d cook well in the slow cooker.

Leave a Reply

