sorry, matthew

matthew's favorite

I recently received a request from a friend for a dinner idea with a laissez faire method to cooking meat. I guess handling uncooked meat makes her a bit squeemish. I have a hard time understanding this as I have a job that requires me to cut the backbones out of rotisserie chickens with a pair of kitchen sheers on a daily basis (which I find methodic and oddly enjoyable), but to each their own.

My thoughts immediately turned to my trusty slow cooker. It’s the ultimate when it comes to set it and forget it cooking. But not everyone has a slow cooker and I wanted this to be approachable. When I stumbled upon this long forgotten gem I knew I had to make it. It was in an e-mail from my mom titled “Matthew really likes this one.” I’m pretty sure she’d intended on my making this when we still lived in New Orleans so that my brother could enjoy it. Unfortunately I never quite got around to that. Sorry, Matthew.

Instead, Alex got the pleasure of enjoying this for dinner the other night. It was good enough that I never saw the leftovers. I’m sure there were some, but they disappeared early the next day. It’s simple, really. you layer everything, cover it in foil, and roast it in the oven. Then add the peas and roast some more. It’s delicious and I think it’ll be perfect for my friend.

toss and go

sausage with roasted peas, and potatoes
printer-friendly version
serves: 4

ingredients:
1 pound sausage links
2-3 large russet potatoes, sliced into wedges
1 14-ounce can diced tomatoes
1 medium yellow onion, thinly sliced
1 teaspoon dried oregano
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon pepper
Olive oil
1 cup frozen peas

directions:
Preheat your oven to 350 degrees. Place the sausage in a roasting pan and lay the potato wedges around it. Scatter the tomatoes on top followed by the onions. Add the oregano, salt, and pepper then drizzle some olive oil on top. Cover the pan with aluminum foil and bake in the oven for 30 minutes. Add the peas, recover and bake for 30 more minutes, removing the foil for the last 10 minutes.

About Jessica

New Yorker, coffee addict, cook, blogger, baker of delicious things.
This entry was posted in dinner, pork and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to sorry, matthew

  1. mom says:

    You got the sausages to brown nicely. That must be an advantage to a gas oven. Since I’m using electric, I have to brown them first on the stovetop. I use my 5 qt saute pan, add the other ingredients and then put the whole thing in the oven. Your grandmother must be smiling down on you.

Leave a Reply

