the day i broke the vegan fast…

gooey center

I could have easily eaten half a bag of green peas for dinner this evening and been fine with it. I tend to eat mismatched meals when Alex has to work at night. Some leftover mashed potatoes, then an hour later a vegetable wrap. It’s less fun to cook when you have no one to cook for but yourself.

Tonight, however, I knew I owed a blog post. So I started thinking early of what I should make. I’d bought chicken breasts with the idea of making something, but I just wasn’t in the mood for making that. Earlier this week I’d made a really delicious sun-dried tomato pesto the other day (the recipe for that is coming soon, I promise) that I felt I should use. So I had this chicken and I had the pesto. Then all of a sudden I remembered a recipe someone had told me about that I’d made once and loved. So I tweaked it and now we have this bit of delicious creativity.

raw chicken is ugly

I used fontina fontal in this recipe because it’s great for cooking. Here’s where I get all cheese monger on you: It’s a young Italian cheese made from pasteurized milk, so it’s safe for all those currently pregnant cousins of mine. It slices easily and melts incredibly well. It’s mild  so it doesn’t overwhelm the other flavors going on. I suggest buying a little more than you need so you can snack on it a bit, too.

rolled

sun-dried tomato pesto chicken rolls
printer-friendly version
serves 3-4

ingredients:
3 chicken breasts (about 2 lbs)
1/3 cup sun-dried tomato pesto
1/4 pound fontina cheese
Salt and pepper
1 tablespoon olive oil

directions:
Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Halve each of the chicken breasts, cover each with wax paper and pound with a mallet or skillet until they’re a little thinner. Spread the pesto evenly on the cut side of the chicken. Place a strip of fontina on one of the ends of the chicken breast and roll it up length-wise. Secure it with two toothpicks, making sure that they go through all the way to the other side and season with salt and pepper. Heat the olive oil in a skillet over medium heat. Place the chicken rolls in the skillet and slowly brown on all sides, about 10 minutes.  Transfer the chicken to a baking dish and bake in the oven until cooked all the way through, about 20 minutes. Serve warm, making sure to remove the toothpicks before serving as they will now stay rolled on their own.

About Jessica

New Yorker, coffee addict, cook, blogger, baker of delicious things.
This entry was posted in cheese, chicken, dinner, poultry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

