porky mcporkerson

breaded pork chops

My favorite weeknight meals are simply a protein and a [green] vegetable. As much as I love making an elaborate, multi-step meal, during the work-week, simple is usually best. The only problem with my protein + veggie menu is that my husband doesn’t seem to be quite satisfied without a starch. My solution: panko breadcrumbs. I find that topping, dredging or coating fish, chicken, or in this case, pork with panko satisfies Derek’s starch requirement.

marinate in vinegar flour, egg, panko

I first saw this recipe for breaded pork chops on the blog Dinner: A Love Story which chronicles the meals of Jenny, Andy and their two girls. They also write for Bon Appetit, where I got the actual recipe. Apparently, these pork chops were a childhood staple for Andy. I think they’ll become a staple in our household as well.

sizzle sizzle

breaded pork chops
printer-friendly recipe
adapted from Bon Appetit
serves: 2

ingredients:
2 bone-in pork chops, pounded to 1/2″ thickness
1/2 cup apple cider or red wine vinegar
1/4 cup all-purpose flour
1 large egg, beaten
3/4 cups panko breadcrumbs
Zest from half a lemon
1 1/2 teaspoons dried herbs (Italian blend, thyme, oregano, etc.)
3 tablespoons olive oil
Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper

directions:
Arrange pork in a single layer in a pie plate or shallow bowl and cover with vinegar. Let sit for 30 minutes at room temperature, flipping after 15 minutes. Set up your dredging stations: one dish with flour; one with beaten egg; and one with panko, zest, and herbs. Heat a large cast-iron or heavy nonstick skillet over medium heat and add the olive oil. Season each chop generously with salt and pepper. Use a fork to dredge each chop first in the flour, then in the egg, then in the panko mixture; make sure they coat the sides as well as the tops and bottoms. Put them into the hot oil and cook until crispy and cooked through, about 4 minutes per side.

This entry was posted in dinner, pork and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to porky mcporkerson

  1. Aunt chris says:

    These sound great and now I know “what’s for dinner tonight”. I’ve often breaded my pork chops but have never marinated them in vinegar. And the lemon zest…yummy!

    • jane says:

      they were so yummy! i love the acid from the vinegar and lemon zest! let us know how they turn out if you give the recipe a try!

  2. Jessica says:

    I ate these as a child, too! So yummy!

  3. bunnimari says:

    Believe it or not, I have 2 thick pork chops in the freezer that I didn’t know what to do with. I will be making these chops for Uncle Ken tonight!

Leave a Reply

