oh, sugar sugar

crunchy, not soft

I was a baker long before I started cooking. Some find it difficult, but to me it’s easier. For most recipes you just add the right amount of ingredients, combine, and toss it in the oven. Fewer steps, less difficult to make a mistake. One of my favorite things to bake are these cookies.

butter and shortening. you know it'll be good.

These are the cookies that my High School used to make for everything. Parent-teacher night, National honors society initiation receptions, etc. My mom, who worked there for a  period of time, pilfered the recipe and they’ve been mine to have whenever I want ever since.

i could eat it with a spoon. chocolate

These are basically sugar cookies but for some reason they’re really, really good. They’re very crispy, hold up well when dunked in milk, and I like the sprinkles on top (who doesn’t like sprinkles?). I usually use rainbow sprinkles for color but there seems to be some weird rainbow sprinkles shortage in Manhattan going on, so I used chocolate this time. These cookies are so simply delicious that even Alex (not usually interested in sweets) loves them.

sprinkles, not jimmies

perfectly sized via cookie scoop

mahopac high school cookies
printer-friendly version
makes 3 dozen cookies

ingredients:
1/2 lb. butter (2 sticks)
1/2 cup vegetable shortening
2 cups sugar
2 eggs (use 3 eggs for chocolate cookies)
2 teaspoons vanilla
2 teaspoons baking soda
4 cups flour
1 1/2 cups baking cocoa
sprinkles or granulated sugar

directions:
Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Mix together the butter, shortening, sugar, eggs and vanilla until well blended. Sift together the baking soda and flour, then add to the cookie mix. If making chocolate cookies, add the baking cocoa and mix well. Using a 2″ scoop or a heaping tablespoon, create rounded balls of dough and dip them into sprinkles or granulated sugar. Place them on a cookie sheet and flatten slightly with your hand. Bake 15-17 minutes and then transfer them to a cooling rack.

About Jessica

New Yorker, coffee addict, cook, blogger, baker of delicious things.
This entry was posted in cookies, dessert, meatless monday, snack, vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to oh, sugar sugar

  1. mom says:

    I’d forgotten all about these! Great job with the blog. They look yummy! I might just make some this week, since all of you polished off all the Christmas cookies. ;o)

  2. Jessica says:

    I believe I had some help from my sibling.

  3. Karmen says:

    I had been dying to make these ever since the recipe was posted. FINALLY I did it!! Cookies were good. Great texture, and flavor. I made the sugar version and found I needed the 3rd egg. The dough wouldn’t hold ball shape w/o the addition. Also, next time I’d probably reduce the baking soda amount because it gave them a strong “after-bite” taste.
    Next up…Snicker Doodles! 🙂

Leave a Reply

