i love my slow cooker

cold weather soup

Alex and I are busy. Between the two of us we have four jobs and he goes to school full time. When I say busy, I mean it. So I’m delighted any time I can toss food in a slow cooker, go to work, and come home to a meal that’s already complete.

I didn’t always appreciate our slow cooker. It took some convincing on Alex’s part before I was a believer. I was skeptical. I tried a few recipes out and this is one of my favorites. It’s not an overly liquidy soup, but it’s hearty and delicious. The ham adds a really nice, slightly smoky flavor and the kale wilts nicely without getting mushy. I prefer a drizzle of sherry vinegar just before serving but balsamic adds a nice flavor, too.

no more room in the crock pot

[slow-cooker] ham and kale soup with cannellini beans
printer-friendly version
serves: 6

ingredients:
1 yellow onion, finely chopped
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 small bunch of kale, washed, removed from the stem and chopped
2 cans (15.5 ounces each) cannellini beans
3 cups ham, diced
6 cups stock (4 cups ham + 2 cups chicken or 6 chicken with ham seasoning below)
1-2 teaspoons or packets ham flavor base (optional, but recommended if using chicken stock)
1 cup water
1/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes
Freshly ground black pepper to taste
Sherry or balsamic vinegar (optional, but highly recommended)

directions:
Toss everything (except the vinegar) in your crock pot and stir to combine. Cook for 3-4 hours on high or 6-8 hours on low. Serve hot with a drizzle of balsamic or sherry vinegar in each bowl.

About Jessica

New Yorker, coffee addict, cook, blogger, baker of delicious things.
This entry was posted in pork, slow-cooker, soup/stew and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to i love my slow cooker

  1. Linda says:

    I think you have some typos: 6 cups of liquid and not the 4 it shows (4+2 or the 6 total), and the cooking should read: 3-4 hr. on HIGH or 6-8 hr. on LOW.
    correct me if I’m wrong, but this is how I read it.

Leave a Reply

