if the queen of hearts had this tart she wouldn’t have been so angry

practically perfect in every way

I need to stop making this. I know, I know, that’s a terrible way to try to sell you on making this, but it’s true. Hear me out, though. I initially made this because it sounded delicious and looked aesthetically pleasing. I made it for dinner and sneaked a bite while I was waiting for Alex to join me. My eyes grew wide and my chewing slowed. Alex looked and me hesitantly and I urged him to try it. We ate the entire thing that night. The next time I made it, the tart only survived 12 hours before I finished it off for breakfast.

onions have layers tossed veggies

It’s superb. The crust is crispy, flaky and delicious. The hummus adds just the right about of moisture without overwhelming the grilled vegetables. You can make your own hummus in any flavor you’d like to add extra flavor. If you’re short on squash, use sliced eggplant or tomatoes instead. I used a mandolin to slice the vegetables and it was quick and easy.

all set up

roasted vegetable and hummus tart
printer-friendly version
adapted from ecurry.com

ingredients:
roasted vegetables:
1 zucchini, sliced into rounds
1 yellow squash, sliced into rounds
1 red onion, thickly sliced
1 red bell pepper, thickly sliced
6 cloves of garlic, minced
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon crushed red pepper
2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
Dried herbs (optional)
crust:
2 cups flour
1/3 cup + 2 1/2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
1/4 cup + 1 1/2 tablespoons very cold water (add more sparingly if crust won’t hold together)
1 teaspoon salt
Freshly ground pepper
1 tablespoon dried rosemary
Extra virgin olive oil
tart:
1/2 cup hummus
1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper

directions:
Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Toss the sliced vegetables with the olive oil, crushed red pepper, salt and herbs. Place on a baking sheet and roast in the oven for an hour, flipping them in between. I usually just toss them with a pair of tongs halfway through. While the vegetables are roasting, prepare your crust.

Whisk the dry ingredients together to get out any lumps. Whisk the water and olive oil together in a separate bowl for one minute. Mix the liquids into the flour mixture with a fork until it’s well combined. Use your hands to briefly work the dough together but do not overwork. It should be soft but not sticky. Place the dough on parchment or a silpat (don’t own one? They’re awesome. You should.) and roll out into whatever shape you’d like.  If you find that the crust is flaking, roll only in one direction. Prick the crust all over with a fork and bake in the oven for 12 minutes on the parchment and on a cookie sheet.. Remove when the edges start to brown.

When the vegetables are done, remove them from the oven. Spread the hummus on the crust and place the vegetables on the crust, overlapping, in a thin layer. Sprinkle with the red pepper and place it back in the oven for 5 minutes until the hummus and crust have heated.

Serve warm, room temperature, or straight out of the fridge because you can’t help yourself.

About Jessica

New Yorker, coffee addict, cook, blogger, baker of delicious things.
This entry was posted in appetizer, dinner, meatless monday, side dish, snack, vegan, vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to if the queen of hearts had this tart she wouldn’t have been so angry

  1. mom says:

    I made this the other night. The crust is so delish! And the veggies were great! I’ll definitely make this again. I used zucchini, eggplant, red onions, and grape tomatoes. Maybe next time I’ll add some sort of soft cheese: feta, goat.

  2. Shalane says:

    I am obsessed with this!

Leave a Reply

