hummus is yummus

hummus

“Where’s the hummus” is in the top 5 most common questions I get at work so it’s strange to think that when I was growing up hummus was relatively uncommon in the U.S. It was a bit exotic and there definitely weren’t coolers filled with it at the grocery store like there are today. Now you can find a variety of flavors in those flat, round containers in the cooler section almost anywhere that sells food just begging you to snack on them.

I’ve never bought hummus. Okay, there was that one time when I saw it in a can at our local International Market and had to try it. It wasn’t good. I won’t be doing that again. But for the most part, it seems foolish to buy something that I can make so inexpensively at home. Seriously, check out the ingredient list below and you probably have most of this stuff at home already. I make it in my food processor but you can also make it in the blender in 5 minutes. I’ll admit that this recipe doesn’t contain tahini like most do. I made this a lot in college when I was either a) too poor to buy tahini or b) didn’t want to commit any of the space in my mini fridge to a container which I only needed a few tablespoons from every once in a while. It also doesn’t have as smooth of a texture as store bought hummus. It’s entirely possible that this is due to my impatience to wait for it to blend longer, but either way Alex claims he likes it with a slight texture.

cheaper than buying it

This is delicious as a snack with pita or veggies but I also use it as a spread for sandwiches and wraps. The added bonus to making your own hummus is that you can customize it to your liking. Check out the brands they sell at the grocery store to get ideas for delicious additions to this recipe or come up with some of your own. Add a little at a time until it tastes perfect to you.  Want it extra garlicky? (I always do). Then add an extra clove or two. I can also highly recommend green onion, roasted red peppers, and jalapeno as delicious additions.

hummus
printer-friendly version
serves: 6

ingredients:
4 cloves garlic
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon pepper
1/2 cup extra virgin olive oil
1 19-ounce can chickpeas, rinsed and drained
1/4 cup lemon juice

directions:
Toss everything into your food processor and blend until smooth. If you want it to be smoother add more extra virgin olive oil a little at a time until you reach the desired consistency.

About Jessica

New Yorker, coffee addict, cook, blogger, baker of delicious things.
This entry was posted in appetizer, condiment/sauce, meatless monday, side dish, snack, vegan, vegetarian and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to hummus is yummus

  1. Love it. Thanks! Hope you guys are doing well and had a great Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

