tastes like fall

pumpkin pie mix

Fall is my favorite season. It includes some of my favorite things: cooler weather, UVA football, Thanksgiving, and pumpkin spice lattes. I can not tell you how excited I get when I can finally order pumpkin lattes. I’m pretty sure the baristas think I’m nuts.

just baked

In addition to pumpkin in caffeinated, liquid form, I also love any baked goods containing the delightfully orange gourd. Pumpkin bread, pie, and these chocolate chip cookies taste just like fall– what’s not to love? When my friend Elise brought these cookies to a little gathering of Wahoos, I could not get over the deliciousness and she oh-so-kindly sent me the recipe. I think I’ve mentioned before that I’m not really a baker (I don’t think boxed Funfetti mix really counts)… That being said, if I can make these cookies, anyone can. Since pumpkin is a squash, they’re practically healthy to boot!

pumpkin chocolate chip cookies

elise’s pumpkin chocolate chip cookies
printer-friendly recipe
adapted from George Duran
makes 5 dozen-ish cookies

ingredients:
1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, softened
1 cup white sugar
1 cup light brown sugar (I used dark, the world didn’t end)
2 large eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 cup canned pumpkin puree (Elise recommends seasoned pie mix)
3 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 teaspoon ground ginger
1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1/2 teaspoon ground cloves
2 cups (12-ounce bag) semi-sweet chocolate chips
Non-stick cooking spray or parchment paper

directions:
Heat the oven to 350 degrees F. Using a mixer with a paddle attachment, beat the butter until smooth. Beat in the white and brown sugars, a little at a time, until the mixture is light and fluffy. Beat in the eggs 1 at a time, then mix in the vanilla and pumpkin puree. In a large bowl, whisk/sift together the flour, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg, and cloves. Slowly beat the flour mixture into the batter in thirds. Stir in the chips. Spray cookie sheets with non-stick spray or line them with parchment paper. Scoop the cookie dough by heaping tablespoons onto the prepared cookie sheets and bake for 15 to 20 minutes, until the cookies are browned around the edges. Remove the cookie sheets from the oven and let them rest for 2 minutes. Take the cookies off with a spatula and cool them on wire racks.

This entry was posted in cookies, dessert, vegetarian and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to tastes like fall

  1. bunnimari says:

    Here is the Pumpkin Dip recipe I told you about.
    1 (15 oz.) can pumpkin; 1 cup sour cream; 2 cups Cool Whip; 1/2 cup brown sugar;
    1 tsp. cinnamon
    Mix all ingredients together. Chill & serve.
    You can take 6″ flour tortillas & cut them into wedges. Place on cookie sheets & spray with water. Sprinkle cinnamon sugar on them & bake in a preheated 350 degree oven for 12-15 minutes.
    They are delicious with the dip. Or, you can use ginger snaps. I’m going to try these pumpkin cookies!
    Love,
    Aunt Phyllis

Leave a Reply

