bloody mary, for dinner

bloody mary steak salad

Bloody Marys are the quintessential breakfast/brunch drink. Well, besides mimosas. While this recipe doesn’t get its kick from vodka, it does get a nice bit of zing from the horseradish and Tabasco. I think one of the main reasons I love this recipe is because I can usually get Derek to cook the steak portion– which is less work for me! (How stereotypical is that– having the guy cook the meat? Oh well!)

But speaking of steak, does anyone else think all the different cuts are a little confusing? I bought some sort of “flank” steak a couple weeks back and once cooked, discovered that I absolutely could NOT eat it. I’ve never actually cooked something so inedible– it was like chewing rubber bands. So be careful of what cut of meat you buy, and if your grocery store has a butcher or meat counter, get an opinion from the pros– they’re usually more than glad to help you navigate the meat case!

in a tube! vinaigrette meat! meat! rabbit food

I actually got this recipe from Jessica— she posted it to her Facebook wall and I couldn’t wait to try it. This salad is quick to prepare and is very satisfying due to the crunchy veggies and the substantial steak. I like my dressing to be very tart, so I usually add extra lemon. This is one of those dressings you’ll have to taste until you think it’s just right. Remember, it should remind you of a Bloody Mary! As a bonus, I think it *might* work for those of you on the Paleo diet. (I’m looking at you, little sister!)

one bowl meal slightly blurry, but still delicious

bloody mary steak salad
printer-friendly version
adapted from Rachael Ray and Steamy Kitchen
serves: 4

ingredients:
for the vinaigrette:
2 tablespoons tomato paste
Juice of 2 lemons (about 3 tablespoons)
1 tablespoon prepared horseradish
1/2 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce
1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil
Freshly ground black pepper
Tabasco sauce
for the salad:
1 1/2 pounds steak (I used sirloin, but you can use flank or skirt steak)
1 romaine heart, chopped
4 stalks celery, thinly sliced on an angle
1/2 pint grape or cherry tomatoes, cut in half
1/4 red onion, very thinly sliced
1/4 cup parsley, roughly chopped
Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper

directions:
Preheat your grill pan (or grill) to medium-high. Place the sliced onion in a small bowl with very cold water to take the bite out a bit. Combine the tomato paste, lemon juice, horseradish and Worcestershire in a bowl. Whisk in the olive oil; season with black pepper and Tabasco to your preferred heat level. Taste the dressing and adjust as you see fit with the vinaigrette ingredients. Season your steak with salt and pepper and grill until it reaches your desired doneness (about 5-7 minutes on each side for medium rare). Let the steak rest while you prepare the salad. Combine the romaine, celery, tomatoes, parsley, and red onion (drained and paper-toweled dry) in a large bowl. Toss the salad with half of the dressing. Slice the steak across the grain and place it on top of the salad. Drizzle the steak slices with the remaining dressing and serve.

This entry was posted in beef, salad and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to bloody mary, for dinner

  1. Jessi says:

    yum! thanks for the look out sissy! ^_^

  2. Aunt Chris says:

    Hope you don’t mind me putting in my 2 cents but, here goes.
    My dad was a butcher and I remember him preparing flank steak only one way, marinated. I think it has to be in order for it to become tender and you must always remember to slice it against the grain. If you don’t, it’s like chewing on rubber bands.
    Also, if you use a hand held juicer, you should be able to get more than 3 tablespoons of juice from only 1 lemon. I usually get 4.

  3. jane says:

    yeah. my “flank” steak mishap was ridiculous. i think the cut i bought was intended to be cooked longer/slower. i did marinate AND cut across what i though was the grain, but it was just not working out.
    i use a hand reamer for juicing citrus; the ones i got that day must not have been very juice-y… and like i mentioned, i love acid in dressings, so i usually load up!

  4. Aunt Chris says:

    I, too, was confused about the grain of the meat until I watched the Good Eats show which explained it perfectly. Maybe foodnetwork.com has a video of that show.

  5. Jessica says:

    I like to add spanish olives to mine because they’re delicious.

    • jane says:

      derek only likes black olives, so i don’t usually include brine-y ones in this salad…

      • Jessica says:

        Alex is the same way! I add mine on to my plate only. One time I suggested we substitute some of the oil in the dressing for vodka and Alex vetoed it. He’s no fun.

Leave a Reply

