i love corn

corn pudding

My love affair with corn is a bit ridiculous. I pride myself on how “neatly” I can eat corn on the cob. Seriously, the whole kernel, one row at a time! And much to Derek’s dismay (and slight disgust) I eat an entire can of corn as a snack or light lunch more often than even I’d like to admit.

summer corn saute

But fresh summer corn is something else all together. I grew up eating corn boiled in a giant pot and left on the stove for anyone who might walk by and fish out a cob. Derek’s family actually introduced me to grilled corn on the cob: soaked in water and thrown on a hot grill, husks and all. I love the smoky charred bits and also how his family is not shy with the butter.

pre-bake post bake

This recipe for summer corn pudding is a new one to me, but I had to try it, seeing as how it contains three of my most favorite ingredients: fresh corn, cheese, and honey. It is delightfully fluffy, due to the slightly sweet, eggy custard and the fresh corn provides a nice contrast in texture. I could eat this entire pan, but will try my best to share with D.

no. 1 food = corn!

corn pudding
printer-friendly recipe
adapted (barely) from Food 52 
serves: 4

ingredients:
2 tablespoons unsalted butter
2 cups fresh corn kernels (about 3 ears)
4 scallions, chopped, white and light green portions
3 large eggs
1 tablespoon honey
1 tablespoon all-purpose flour
1 cup whole milk
1 pinch cayenne pepper
3/4 cup coarsely grated sharp cheddar cheese, divided
kosher salt and ground black pepper
4 large, fresh basil leaves

directions:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Using a large skillet, melt the butter over medium-high heat. Add the corn and scallions and sauté for 3 minutes. Remove skillet from heat. In a large bowl, beat the eggs slightly. Add the honey, flour, milk and cayenne. Whisk to combine well. Add the corn-scallion mixture to the bowl in batches so the eggs don’t scramble, as well as 1/2 cup of grated cheddar. Mix thoroughly. Stack the basil leaves and then roll into a little cigar. Slice thinly (chiffonade) and add to the pudding. Stir. Pour the pudding into a square, greased baking dish (8″ x 8″). Sprinkle top with the 1/4 cup of reserved cheddar. Bake for 40 minutes. Allow pudding to rest 15 minutes before serving.

notes:
My pudding came out a little wet. It may have been the “jumbo” eggs, or the fact that I scraped the cobs of all their “milk”, that sweet, creamy layer left on the cob when you cut the kernels off by hand. Also, I initially left out the actual milk called for in the recipe, poured everything back into a giant bowl with the milk, gave it all a whisk and then dumped it all back into the same dish to bake. It still turned out delicious.

This entry was posted in cheese, eggs, meatless monday, side dish, vegetarian and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

