mom’s stromboli

sliced, rolled goodness

Growing up, I remember my mom often making stromboli for any event that required a covered dish. As a child I always hated to see her carry it out of the house until I realized that she’d made a second one to leave home for us.

Having made my mom’s recipe, I now understand why she used it for such occasions. It’s quick, easy, portable, and everyone loves it. Fresh out of the oven or cold as leftovers, it’s a favorite. You can dip it in pasta sauce or add extra fillings such as garlic, fresh herbs, or thinly sliced mushrooms, but be careful- too many fillings will make it difficult to roll and things could get messy!

layers pre-bake deliciousness

stromboli
printer-friendly version
serves: 4

ingredients:
1 ball pizza dough
1/4 pound provolone, thinly sliced
1/4 pound pepperoni, thinly sliced
1 egg

directions:
Preheat the oven to 450 degrees. Roll the pizza dough into a large rectangle. Cover the dough with a layer of provolone making sure to leave a 1-inch border around the edge. Cover the cheese with the slices of pepperoni. Beat the egg and brush it along the border. Grabbing from the wider end, roll the stromboli all the way to the end. Pinch together the seam and ends and brush with the remaining egg. Cut several short slits into the top so steam can be released. Bake for 20 minutes.

About Jessica

New Yorker, coffee addict, cook, blogger, baker of delicious things.
This entry was posted in appetizer, bread, cheese, dinner, pork, snack and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to mom’s stromboli

  1. That looks amazing. Quick question is the pizza dough just a can of dough (like Pillsbury?) just smooshed into a big ball and rolled? Would a ball of Rocky’s dough work?

  2. Phyllis Marino says:

    I don’t know if you got my last post, so I am re-posting. I didn’t know you had a blog until today! I am so proud of both of you! This is awesome! I am at the beach & I will now most likely make stromboli some time this weekend! I’ve joined the blog!

  3. leftofdeth says:

    that looks SO good!

Leave a Reply

